Yammer 2.0

Yammer is a microblogging site, similar to Twitter, for businesses to use internally. Recognizing the need for social networking, the two year old company announced its Yammer 2.0 project last week. This updated version of Yammer will include features similar to LinkedIn and Facebook. Matthew Lynley of Media Beat discusses the upgrades here.  The new tools will allow users to message each other, create events, and perform the other functions done regularly on social networking sites. Yammer’s website gives a brief overview of the main functions.

Ann All of IT Business Edge explains that Yammer is not a tool to be dismissed; 80% of the Fortune 500 companies use it in their employee communication strategies and it boasts over a million users. The difference between Yammer and Twitter or Facebook is that the user must have a company e-mail to access the company’s specific network, making the security of internal conversations a priority.

Social and Interactive Approach

Leena Rao of TechCrunch.com discusses how Yammer 2.0 opens up its application development platform to independent developers, allowing anyone to plug into and create new applications. She also asserts that Yammer is  expanding beyond the social network basics, it plans to include polls, question and answer segments, chats, and more. Click here to read her September 28 post for more details.

Yammer’s chat and messaging functions allow employees to engage in synchronous and asynchronous communication with each other. If they have a question or an issue, they can address it on Yammer and get it resolved quickly. This also provides a useful platform for collaboration and many people can be included in a chat. If someone is not online but the information pertains to them, they can be added to the chat and it will be sent to their feed. This is useful for keeping everyone informed and up-to-speed on current projects and developments at a relatively low cost to the company.

This entry was posted in Technologies and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Yammer 2.0

  1. Nice explanation of the Yammer technology Cathy, I haven’t heard of it before reading your post but it makes perfect since for corporations to start using it. I went to the Yammer website and ended up on the Yammer Blog (http://blog.yammer.com/blog/). There were some really cool posts on there like interviews of a time when social media “saved your ass” and even post about why Yammer is so helpful for organizations. I thought this one about using Yammer during a crisis was very interesting, http://blog.yammer.com/blog/2010/09/yammer-helps-in-times-of-crisis-.html, maybe Yammer will help prevent an issue from developing into a crisis in the future.

  2. Interesting article, Cathy! I was very surprised to learn that 80% of Fortune 500 companies are using Yammer! I had never even heard of Yammer before reading your post. You really show the importance of this up and coming form of social media. People should be paying attention to this new line of media. I recently got myself a Twitter account and now I use it every day, multiple times a day even though I didn’t know anything about it a few months ago. I believe Yammer is in the same situation. It took people awhile to start using Twitter and now it has taken off, and I have a feeling that Yammer will soon follow.

  3. Claire LaBar says:

    Cathy, thank-you for doing a post about Yammer! I’ve heard so much about it, but I never really knew if I could rely on its credibility. I’m glad your post gives credible statistics, and I’d love to use Yammer with my future employer. I think it’s important to have a social network that is exclusively internal, and can really help to form a sense of unity and collective responsibility from employees. It’s also really useful, as you mentioned, for keeping employees updated, and I think it is a refreshing change from office memos and mass e-mails. Did you know that Yammer has its own blog? Their website is http://blog.yammer.com/, and I think you’ll find a lot of interesting examples of how Yammer actually engages its employees.

  4. I was surprised to learn that 80% of Fortune 500 companies use Yammer. This is a significant statistic that, I think, really proves the effectiveness of microblogging in organizational social media use. I found that Yammer has published a webpage dedicated to advertising specific companies’ success in using their services https://www.yammer.com/about/case_studies#deloitte-story

    Also, I’m glad that you mentioned how Yammer is different from Twitter and other microblogging sites by requiring e-mail registration to contribute. I would be interested to know if and how a company’s privacy and sensitive information may be put at risk from the use of these media platforms.

  5. Melinda Long says:

    I have never heard of Yammer before your post. It seems to me that it is a hybrid of Twitter, Facebook, chat rooms, and other aspects of the online world. I think this is a cool tool for companies to have for their employees. You mentioned that one of the features is synchronous and asynchronous communication between employees. I think that is important to have quick communication, especially in large companies. Do you know what companies currently use Yammer and how it is working for them?

Leave a Reply

